Kale Chips…light, crispy and delicious!


Sadly all weekend I have been knocked out by this terrible cold. Yesterday, my roommate climbed the three flights of rickety stairs to get to my sick cave (i.e. my room) and brought me some of these delightful treats. Even when I am sick I crave crunchy things, and all the nutrients in these treats were great for my immune system 🙂 and very, very tasty. Thought I would continue the kale love and share the recipe and deliciousness! Hope you enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 1 head kale, washed and thoroughly dried
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (other recipes have used less than this if you are calorie conscious)
  • Sea salt, for sprinkling (my roommate did one batch with sea salt and one batch with Fondor)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 275 degrees F.

Remove the stem from the kale (can usually be done in one long pull down the step) and cut leaves into 1 1/2-inch pieces. Lay on a baking sheet and toss with the olive oil and salt. Bake until crisp, turning the leaves halfway through (you also may have to mix some of the leaves from the side into the middle – my roommate found that just mixing them around a bit instead of individually turning each leave over worked as well), about 20-25 minutes.

I also found this cute little video blog on kale chips from another Michael Pollan fan! She does her kale chips at 350 degrees instead. See which version works for you better!

Leave a Reply

