Girls Day Out: Cherry Blossoms, Shopping, the Library, and the Hunger Games


Now that I am no longer house bound by sickness and the Spring weather is in full force, I finally got to go out and wander around DC! This weekend kicked off the National Cherry Blossom Festival in the nation’s capital. It is an annual event  that commemorates the 1912 gift of 3,000 cherry trees from Mayor Yukio Ozaki of Tokyo to the city of Washington, DC. This year marked the 100th anniversary of this gift – a symbol of the friendship between the United States and Japan. While I was unable to make it to the opening ceremony yesterday, my friends and I were able to go down and walk the Washington Monument grounds lined with cherry blossom trees.

The peak bloom was on the 20th so we missed that, but the trees were beautiful nonetheless (especially with the monuments as backdrops to our walk!)

The weekend progressed and spring time cleaning commensed along with some needed spring time shopping. My whole wardrobe consisted mostly of olive, black, gray and brown. I needed some color in my life! Enter DSW and a trip to Forever 21. Some of the items I picked up:

My friend Emily also picked up some very cute spring blazers (that I wish my body type would look good in!)

Another stop on my girl’s weekend out was the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial library to pick up some books on clean eating, healthy smoothies, and of course a couple cookbooks. Hopefully once I get time to actually go through my finds, I will have some tasty recipes to post!

Last stop on my girl’s weekend was a trip to the movies for “The Hunger Games” (trailer).

Sometime I have a hard time getting into things once they have already blown up into what can only be called life forms of themselves. So, before the movie I tried to get myself to read the first book…I made it through 4 chapters. It was not that the book was not well written or I read slowly (usually I can tear through a normal size book in about 3 to 4 hours), but my heart wasn’t into it. My heart is into it now. I love when movies are well done for both sets of movie goers…the ones who have read the book and the ones who haven’t. The movie has definitely put a fire under my but to read the trilogy (probably this week). Here are some reviews (People.com and EW.com) of the movie outside of my own simple pleasure in it. Fascinating concept, great underlying metaphors and symbolism, along with fantastic acting (particularly from Jennifer Lawrence!). My only negative was the first 15 minutes were shot to make you feel like you were part of the action…the reaping…never truly focusing for more than 2 seconds. It made me dizzy and slightly nauseous…but after that the directing became smoother and I settled in to truly enjoy the movie. (Another bonus to the movie was the preview for Snow White and the Huntsman…so beyond excited!)

2 thoughts on “Girls Day Out: Cherry Blossoms, Shopping, the Library, and the Hunger Games

  1. You hit the biggest negative in the movie for me…the shaking of the camera in key spots. I can see why they did it (to make you feel you were seeing things from Katniss’s POV even when she wasn’t in the frame) but I just hate the technique. Otherwise I loved The Hunger Games, i read the book back when in came out in 2008 before it became popular. It was really good for me even though I didn’t see how a sequel would work and draw me in as well. I really suggest the book because key things are changed and the read also adds a lot of dimension to the relationships you can’t see visually. Anyway great post. Cute girls! Cheers!

    • I am very excited to actually finish the first book and quickly move onto the second and third. I was so surprised in the movie when it ended…I thought that one round of hunger games was spread over the whole trilogy. So I definitely look forward to see what the author does with the kind of overarching themes and social commentary that resound throughout. I did like in the movie how they showed what it would look like on TV…while I love first person narratives…you do miss out on certain things like the larger picture. In something that is a huge televised spectacle…it was neat to see it as such visually. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

