Baked Apple Streusel (Vegan)


In sticking with my “cook your own junk food” theme, I decided to try my hand at some apple goodness. 🙂 This recipe was originally a Weight Watchers recipe, and while the portions are small (which isn’t a bad thing), I was very impressed with how quick and easy it was. I only made a few changes to the recipe to make it a little healthier and completely vegan (it was almost there on its own *smiles*). I swapped out the all purpose flour for organic whole wheat flour and the margarine for vegan butter. This recipe was absolutely delicious! (roommate tested and everything) Another added bonus to this recipe the ingredients are things I (and most people) almost always have stocked in the fridge and pantry! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Prep time: 10 minutes. Cook time: 45 minutes. 4 WWPlus Points (2012). Serves 8.

Ingredients

4 medium fresh apple(s), peeled, cored and thinly sliced (use firm apples) **I would double this next time to get a little bit more volume, but if you do increase the number of apples be sure they are THINLY sliced so they cook easily
1/2 cup(s) unpacked brown sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup(s) all-purpose flour whole wheat flour
1/4 cup(s) uncooked old fashioned oats
3 Tbsp reduced-calorie margarine  vegan butter

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • Stir together apples, 1/4 cup of brown sugar, cinnamon and lemon juice; pour into a 1 1/2 quart baking dish.
  • Cut flour, oatmeal, remaining brown sugar and margarine together with a pastry blender or fork in a medium bowl; sprinkle over apple mixture.
  • Bake until apples are tender and top is browned, about 45 minutes. Yields about 1/2 cup per serving.

2 thoughts on “Baked Apple Streusel (Vegan)

    • Thank you (salamat)! I hope you enjoy this recipe (and the ones that follow) as much as I did. You will have to tell me how yours turns out! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

