more veggies please…in season this April!


For maximum nutrition, we’re better off eating closer to the source and relying on Mother Nature for seasonal produce to keep us in balance
~Terry Walter, “Clean Food”

There are thousands of different approaches to eating out there, eating seasonally is just one of them. I like seasonal eating for many reasons, including how it allows me to connect with my community better…through farmer’s markets/farm stands, and I to support the local economy 🙂 I think that everyone should simply find which approach works best for you and parallels how you view yourself, food, the environment, and sustainability. That being said, knowledge is power, so here is a list of veggies and fruits that are in season this April. Enjoy!

Vegetables: zucchini, rhubarb,artichokes,asparagus,spring peas,broccoli,lettuce, arugula, dandelion greens, fava beans, fiddlehead
fern, leeks (end of season), morel mushrooms

Fruits: pineapples,mangoes, limes, oranges

“The seasons are what a symphony ought to be: four perfect movements in harmony with each other” – Arthur Rubenstein

2 thoughts on “more veggies please…in season this April!

    • I am out of town this weekend but am excited that next weekend I get to go to the local DC farmer’s market. I love how in each city I go to there are always such variety and change…it challenges me to experiment more! Enjoy your finds!

Leave a Reply

